Girl Crush

In the past, I have lamented how much time I spend/waste in front of the television. However, recently I have caught up with some really good shows that have made me feel slightly less guilty about the massive butt indentation that has developed on my couch. While these shows differ in their content, format, cast, and era, the one commonality is that they all feature extraordinary female leads. With the complete abuse of the male antihero trope in modern television (i.e. Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Dexter), these women – and, by extension, their shows – are a breath of fresh air in a room full of man stink.

Since I tend to overwhelm my readers with very long blog posts, especially when I write reviews of what I’ve been watching or reading, I’ve decided to release my latest essay, “Girl Crush,” in a three-part series. You can read whichever ones you choose, though my preference, of course, is that you read them all and share them widely with those you love.  Part 1 will be about Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Part 2 will cover both The Killing and The Fall. Part 3 will address the new Netflix series Orange is the New Black. Please note that some of these reviews contain mild spoilers.

About moniacal @ X Rated

On a lifelong journey to be a person in a place...
This entry was posted in Gender, Pop Culture, TV and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

